Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How to restore using Cydia's signature server

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    200
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 15 Times in 10 Posts
    Downloads
    49
    Uploads
    0

    Default How to restore using Cydia's signature server

    I´ve been trying for 2 hours to install my 4.0.1 on my Iphone 3gs with not luck, everytime receiving the error 3194 on itunes, dont even matter which FW i tried. Then i start looking over ¨Google¨and finally got it...

    The Error 3194 means that Your itunes cant connect to Apple so it wont or cant verify the software you are trying to set on your iphone, so here is the deal...

    1. START > PROGRAMS > ACCESORIES and look for NOTEPAD or if you have Win 7 Just type it over the search menu and RIGHT click on it and RUN IT as ADMINISTRATOR


    clip_image00210.png

    2. Once you Open the Notepad, go to file - Open and type this dir
    C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc

    clip_image0031.jpg


    clip_image0056.png

    3. once you are there, open the hosts file and delete any apple dir or ip you see there and add this one...

    Be sure you choose SELECT ALL FILE not only .txt or ansi ones.

    clip_image0065.jpg

    74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com

    4. Now save it and run again the restore...

    Should be works...
    This was done over my 3GS with 4.0.1 now is currently UNLOCK and JB.

    ¨Have a good day...

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to XtrlRulz For This Useful Post:

    iphoneunlock (10-25-2014)

  3. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    203
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 30 Posts
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Nicely presented!
    Just like to add this only works if you have your shsh blobs saved on Cydia, as 74.208.10.249 is the IP address of the Cydia server, but with the the entry 74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com into the host file you basically "fool" iTunes to think that it is connected to the Apple server, but really iTunes is talking to the Cydia server. For that reason you can restore firmwares that are no longer signed by Apple, like iOS4.0.1, or any other firmware for which you got the shsh blobs saved on Cydia.
    Nothing is impossible, only miracles take a bit longer!

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Rasputin007 For This Useful Post:

    iphoneunlock (10-25-2014)

  5. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    18º24'N ~ 66º05'W
    Posts
    11,479
    Thanks
    503
    Thanked 1,251 Times in 854 Posts
    Downloads
    163
    Uploads
    738

    Default

    Good job!

    As another note, this happens when a new firmware is released and Apple stops signing the previous version. If you saved your SHSH blobs with Cydia, as Ras pointed out, you'll always be able to downgrade to a previous jailbreakable firmware.

  6. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    2,469
    Thanks
    520
    Thanked 122 Times in 111 Posts
    Downloads
    56
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Nice guide!! Thanks XtrlRulz!1


  7. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    200
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 15 Times in 10 Posts
    Downloads
    49
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Well, What can i say.... Took me more than 2-4 hours to figures that the freaking itunes was fooling me out.... So i did all the way around and i want everybody else to know how to get it done nicely.

    You welcome guys! hope it helps.

    ohh Btw, Maxi i was trying to post it on Guide Forum but it didnt allow me...

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    18º24'N ~ 66º05'W
    Posts
    11,479
    Thanks
    503
    Thanked 1,251 Times in 854 Posts
    Downloads
    163
    Uploads
    738

    Default

    Only mods and admin are allowed to post directly to the Guides section since they are fed to our Twitter and Facebook accounts via RSS feed. I don't want spam posting on those pages! Just create your thread here like you did and it will be moved. That being said.....

    Moved to Guides section.

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Did as you wrote,but no joy...
    Could not find any apple related strings in the "hosts" file though... Could I be doing something wrong?
    What do you mean by: "Be sure you choose SELECT ALL FILE not only .txt or ansi ones."?

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    200
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 15 Times in 10 Posts
    Downloads
    49
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Because When you do the "OPEN TAB" in the RIGHT CORNER of your new TAB it says .TXT instead of ALL TYPE of FILES... if you dont change this option you will end up as you did, without find any HOSTS file because the TAB/Windows will only try to show .txt ... so you better change it to ALL and there you go... u will see the file you are looking...

    Hope it helps.... Btw Cydia is not signing anymore the files... You better restore to apples Ip.

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Thank you for your answer! I have found and edited the "host s" file... Now it looks like this.



    # Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

    # localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
    # 127.0.0.1 localhost
    # ::1 localhost
    127.0.0.1 activate.adobe.com
    127.0.0.1 practivate.adobe.com
    127.0.0.1 ereg.adobe.com
    127.0.0.1 activate.wip3.adobe.com
    127.0.0.1 wip3.adobe.com
    127.0.0.1 3dns-3.adobe.com
    127.0.0.1 3dns-2.adobe.com
    127.0.0.1 adobe-dns.adobe.com
    127.0.0.1 adobe-dns-2.adobe.com
    127.0.0.1 adobe-dns-3.adobe.com
    127.0.0.1 ereg.wip3.adobe.com
    127.0.0.1 activate-sea.adobe.com
    127.0.0.1 wwis-dubc1-vip60.adobe.com
    127.0.0.1 activate-sjc0.adobe.com
    74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com


    But there weren't any strings that i deleted, no reference to apple.

  12. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    for me it wont work it says i dont have permission idk hoe to have access please help!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 2 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 2 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •