Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Fix "Sub-process bzip-2 returned an error code (2)" error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    18º24'N ~ 66º05'W
    Posts
    11,479
    Thanks
    503
    Thanked 1,251 Times in 854 Posts
    Downloads
    163
    Uploads
    738

    Default Fix "Sub-process bzip-2 returned an error code (2)" error



    If you have ever mistakenly entered the wrong URL when manually adding a source to Cydia (like ultrasnow instead of ultrasn0w), you have probably gotten the "Sub-process bzip-2 returned an error code (2)" error which persists until you restore your phone even though you enter the correct source afterwards. Here is how you can fixi it without restoring:

    Needed
    1) WinSCP - for SSHing into your phone
    2) pledit.exe - .plist editor

    Step 1
    SSH into your iPhone with WinSCP. Navigate to /private/etc/apt/sources.list.d
    and right-click cydia.list and click Edit.


    Remove the line with the incorrect URL and save the changes.



    Step 2
    Next, navigate to /private/var/lib/cydia and copy the metadata.plist file to your computer and open it with pledit. Hit Ctrl-F to find all instances of your incorrect URL and delete the selection as in the examples below.





    Step 3
    Now, navigate to /private/var/lib/apt/lists and remove the files with the wrong URL.



    Step 4
    Finally, navigate to /private/var/lib/apt/lists/partial and delete the last incorrect URL entries.



    Now you can refresh Cydia and the error should be gone!

    Enjoy!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    2,469
    Thanks
    520
    Thanked 122 Times in 111 Posts
    Downloads
    56
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Thanks MaX, i was looking for this

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    18º24'N ~ 66º05'W
    Posts
    11,479
    Thanks
    503
    Thanked 1,251 Times in 854 Posts
    Downloads
    163
    Uploads
    738

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nsandymary View Post
    Thanks MaX, i was looking for this
    Well, now you found it!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Brewed with Pure Rocky Mountain Spring Water
    Posts
    1,243
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 89 Times in 78 Posts
    Downloads
    15
    Uploads
    1

    Default

    Nice guide M8!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    I did all the steps and still getting the same error message.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    18º24'N ~ 66º05'W
    Posts
    11,479
    Thanks
    503
    Thanked 1,251 Times in 854 Posts
    Downloads
    163
    Uploads
    738

    Default

    Try clearing your cache and rebooting.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Can anyone give me a screen shot of metadata.plist properties? I havn't been able to edit metadata.plist with pledit.exe. There are a 12 boxes at the bottom of properties page. Don't think ALL the boxes r supposed to be checked. HELP?
    permissions: (boxes) []R []W []X []set UID
    []R []W []X []set GID
    []R []W []X []sticky bit
    OCTAL [7777]
    All my R W X boxes r checked and the set,set,sticky boxes r checked also. Anyone can e-mail me if they can help...mc_armour@yahoo.com, or I'll check the forum again later- thanks
    When I try to open metadata with pledit, I get; CoreFoundation init failed!
    Last edited by freyertuck; 05-15-2010 at 12:37 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    18º24'N ~ 66º05'W
    Posts
    11,479
    Thanks
    503
    Thanked 1,251 Times in 854 Posts
    Downloads
    163
    Uploads
    738

    Default

    Freyertuck, can you show me a screenshot of what you're talking about please. Also, have you tried Cyfix?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Louisville, KY / Terre Haute, IN
    Posts
    1,431
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 164 Times in 132 Posts
    Downloads
    39
    Uploads
    9

    Default

    I've never had this error, but if its cydia related, i've found running apt-get clean in the terminal fixes quite a bit of things

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to MrBucket101 For This Useful Post:

    nsandymary (05-19-2010)

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    128
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
    Downloads
    12
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Thank you Max .

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 2 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 2 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •