Page 23 of 51 FirstFirst ... 13181920212223242526272833 ... LastLast
Results 221 to 230 of 504

Thread: How to create a Cydia Repository

  1. #221
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    203
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 30 Posts
    Downloads
    9
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Hmm .... the difference between 777 and 755 is that the "group" and "everybody else" have only read permission and the owner (root if you were logged in as that) has read/write permission.
    I am not sure what user the iPhone is when accessing themes, but I would have thought that read access would be enough to display a theme.
    Anyway I always create deb files as root (soo much easier because of full file system access). I never had any problems in that regard.
    Nothing is impossible, only miracles take a bit longer!

  2. #222
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    20
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Is it possible for me to host a Paid package on my repository?

  3. #223
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    18º24'N ~ 66º05'W
    Posts
    11,479
    Thanks
    503
    Thanked 1,251 Times in 854 Posts
    Downloads
    165
    Uploads
    738

    Default

    Not possible without Saurik's help. He would have to do some backend work for your repo.

  4. #224
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    Default How to upadate a repo

    Hey, i tried all the things and have done everything successfully, but was just thinking of how to upgrade apps already put on the repo!!!
    After modifying the Packages.gz file with some info, i uploaded on the server, now when i put the new apps in the deb folder and type in
    cd /home/username/cydia/upload
    dpkg-scanpackages -m . /dev/null | gzip -9c >Packages.gz

    i again need to modify the packages.gz file whole over again, cant it just add the additions to the last?
    Thank You

  5. #225
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    203
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 30 Posts
    Downloads
    9
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    Everybody has their own way to do things and here is how I "update" Packages.
    I have a special folder where I create the deb files, then just type "go" ("go" is a shell script I created in /usr/bin with just the one line dpkg-scanpackages -m . /dev/null >Packages), which will create a Packages file. After editing the deb file path in it I copy the content into the Packages file that I use on the server root directory, then right click on Packages and select "compress to Packages.gz" (I am using KDE, not sure if you have that also in GNOME), then upload the new Packages and Packages.gz file to the server.
    Works fine and leaves me a backup of every step in case I messed up somewhere.
    If you use the same bundle identifier for the update then Cydia will notice the higher (new) package version automatically, but you might have to reload Cydia as it might still use the "old" Packages file it holds in cache and you will not see the update, even so it is working alright.
    Last edited by Rasputin007; 12-13-2010 at 03:03 PM.
    Nothing is impossible, only miracles take a bit longer!

  6. #226
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    18º24'N ~ 66º05'W
    Posts
    11,479
    Thanks
    503
    Thanked 1,251 Times in 854 Posts
    Downloads
    165
    Uploads
    738

    Default

    I wouldn't modify the Packages.gz file. Take the control file and make a higher version number. Then rebuild the deb, add it to your folder and rerun dpkg-scanpackages. The Packages.gz will automatically update.

  7. #227
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    hi again.
    i have a problem, each package that i install from my repo, shows update in the changes but actually the versions are the same.
    what should i do?

    another question: is there a way to add counter to my repo to see the number of packages which are downloaded?

  8. #228
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    18º24'N ~ 66º05'W
    Posts
    11,479
    Thanks
    503
    Thanked 1,251 Times in 854 Posts
    Downloads
    165
    Uploads
    738

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mobile4persian View Post
    hi again.
    i have a problem, each package that i install from my repo, shows update in the changes but actually the versions are the same.
    what should i do?
    Do you have unique packages in your repo or are you using packages that exist in someone elses repo?

    another question: is there a way to add counter to my repo to see the number of packages which are downloaded?
    Yes. I don't cover it in this guide but you'll need a fairly good coder to do this.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to maXimus For This Useful Post:

    mobile4persian (01-02-2011)

  10. #229
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    i created a unique package by using this command:
    PHP Code:
    dpkg-scanpackages . /dev/null -->Packages 

  11. #230
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    Default

    what's the problem?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 3 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 3 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •